By Request: Portraits by jonbaas

jonbaas

Here’s a little something different for the forum.

I was asked by @ssj1236 and @zeus777 to share some images of my graphite (i.e., pencil) portraits. I had made a comment in the topic (linked below) about the fact that I draw portraits for fun, and by drawing for fun, I am also improving my drawing skills. These two users eagerly asked to see some of my work, so I have obliged their request.

Now, please keep in mind, I have a degree in art and MANY years of experience – I’ve been drawing images like this for over 25 years – I’ve had plenty of practice. Nonetheless, I was asked to share some of my portraits, so, by request… here they are. Enjoy!

Perhaps this topic will serve as inspiration for others to keep practicing your skills as well. 😉

This is the source thread for the requests to see some of my portraits:

i have a lot of skills but at present i have no project. so i am loosing my skill and knowledge day by day. so please give me advice "how can i develop my skill when i have no offer or order?" Thank you

And these are seven of many portraits that I have drawn:

jonbaas_portraits.jpg.7d2312b55ad5779b1d42bfb96484bfd8.jpg

Here’s a little background information about each portrait (from left to right).

Title: “Girl in the Shadows
This was a unique portrait, originally drawn as part of the cover art for a movie. The movie was, ultimately, not released, so the rights to the artwork returned to me.

This portrait is against a black background because it was drawn in reverse. I used my pencils to draw the areas that would be white – on white paper, and then digitally inverted the drawing. This, then, turned the dark pencil areas white, and the background became black. What you see is the inverted drawing, as if the girl in in the portrait was sitting in the dark, with a spotlight shining upon her.

This is one of my favorite drawings, as I love playing with light and dark.

Title: “Rhonda