Fiverr Community Forum

3rd World Shake Down of America?

I don’t know how many sellers I have run into lately from the near and middle east that employ bait and switch tactics, ask for far more than $5 for poor quality work, and are rude and arrogant on top of it. I am getting very leery of ordering from certain countries. I’ll stop here, before I get even more “politically incorrect”, but I sometimes feel “hatred of the west” is being played out on 5er.

Just be sure to NEVER communicate off line with anyone (buyer/seller) ever. One of my buyers told me a story that would make your skin crawl.

I can sympathize. I have a degree in International Affairs and even I’ve started groaning when I see orders coming in from countries that shall remain nameless. They want the whole world for $5 and don’t care about you the seller at all- just what they can get out of you. It annoys me to no ends. I used to be very tolerant and now I’m glad that I just can’t actually physically see the buyers that annoy me on a daily basis.

That said, a lot of my buyers are great and fun to work with, but at least 4 times a week, I get a total creep. :-/

Bait and switching isn’t legal on Fiverr. You should report them. It may not seem like a big deal, but it’s bad practice and harms genuine buyers and sellers.

As for the arrogance part: I always send a few messages before ordering a gig. If I sense for a moment the seller doesn’t have good customer service skills I don’t buy.

Interesting point about hatred of the West. Maybe they just see you as somebody with more money and are eager to get a piece?

I’m learning that about the contact; unfortunately, it seems once you contact some of these guys, they’re on you like sharks, won’t take no for an answer. I look for certain country flags, and pass on by… Seems like there was more professionalism and politeness a few years back, when I first started using 5er.