A Newbie's Perspective

mrtechservices

Continuing the discussion from Are you Offering Very Lowest Price Than the Fair Price? and realised that my reply went off-topic…:

I agree with this thread completely and stumbled on it after I wrote my gig.

I’m a newbie and I’ve had two orders so far (since I signed up in the middle of July), but that ok. I haven’t quit my day-job to live the Fiverr dream, just like a budding singer who gigs at the weekend when starting out.

In my FAQ, I have this question:
I can see you charge a little more than some other sellers doing a similar thing. Why is that?

My Answer: In the offline world, I have over two decades of experience with Microsoft Excel. I’m very good at what I do. I take huge pride in the quality of my work and my prices reflect that quality.

If someone doesn’t like my pricing, I’m ok with that too (I’m not much more expensive than other sellers in my category). I love the fact that whether or not I get the gig, I’m still building good relationships with potential buyers still. They may not have accepted this quote, but hey they may come back having remember your conversation previously.

I did my research. I looked at what others were charging in my gigging area. I checked what they did and didn’t include in their gig description. I then made it my own gig, unique and handcrafted by me.

I’ve browsed these forums, and learnt a fair amount about making the most out of my gig (hearted the ones that struck a chord with me) but I also learnt from personalities and behaviours in not just here but the web in general.

We all came to Fiverr for different reasons. Some come to get their freelance career off the ground, some come to expand their existing reach and some come trying to earn a quick cash (some come for other reasons too 😛).

It’s the desperation of these “quick cash” sellers (and their enablers) that actually do most of the damage and here’s why: