A question for experienced sellers - how did you figure out what to do?

Guest stitchingamy

Guest stitchingamy

How long did it take you to come up with a profitable gig? And I don’t just mean “popular” when I say that . . .

I’m new at this, and I’m having a heck of a time coming up with ANYTHING that I can possibly do that isn’t already being done a million times over. I don’t have a video camera (except for the one on my phone, but that one sucks.) I have no photographic ability to use the camera that I do own. I have no cute pets. I have no computer skills or abilities to speak of. I can’t draw worth anything. I only speak one language, and typing this post drives me nuts, so I can’t imagine volunteering to write an article, no matter what I’m getting paid, lol.

Everybody says, “find something you love.” Well sure. That’s great advice, as long as you can turn the things you love into money. So far, the only thing I’ve come up with is a craft project that takes me a couple of hours to complete. I don’t mind doing it, but with the time invested, and the the cost of materials, I’m not really coming out very far ahead when I earn only $3.92 a pop for a couple of evenings worth of work.

I’m just frustrated. What little I can come up with to do takes a lot more time and materials than I seem to get out of it, which doesn’t seem like a smart way to do business. Especially since I’m not really taking business by storm anyway. So how long did it take you guys to come up with an actual, workable idea?

Thanks for any advice (or rather, encouragement) you can give!

Hey @stitchingamy, Here is some encouragement: Don’t be frustrated. We all go through this. I believe that everyone on Fiverr can make money doing what they love whether they realize it or not. Everyone has a talent.