Fiverr Community Forum

Am I allowed to do this? I’m not sure

I like to edit pics but I’m not a photographer. Can I use pics from sites like unsplash or pixabay, edit them to make them purposely look bad and then re edit them to look better than the original pic to put in my portfolio?

2 Likes

I’m not a professional or expert in this area but my personal opinion is that it’s probably not something you can do. Whether it is legally, but especially ethically. Because you will take pictures from photographers on those sites (which are often of high quality) who are kind enough to let others use their work for free and you’ll purposively make it look bad. Regardless of the fact that people might not know who the photographer is, it doesn’t really seem right to me…

Have you thought about just taking pictures yourself? You don’t have to be a photographer to show your skills of editing pictures. I mean, the quality of phones these days are good enough to take a picture which you can use to showcase your skills (i.e. editing).

2 Likes

Technically you maybe can but it is a terrible plan. There are already many Gigs here that do exactly that. The problem is that it is exceedingly obvious that the After is the Before and the Before is simply the tidy image digitally roughed up.

That proves nothing but dishonesty. That puts you on the wrong side of the TOS as well as morality. You are here to deal with real image restoration which is a painstaking process, if you can’t show real work it begs the Q as to why you would offer the service.