Fiverr Forum

Another Pro Seller Stole My Gig Descriptions

This was a creepy situation, and it’s more or less been resolved. I’m just here to vent.

I’m a content writer and copyeditor, and I earn about 20-25% of my income from Fiverr Pro. Anyway, I’m in a Facebook group for freelance writers, and someone reached out to me about Fiverr. We talked on Facebook Messenger, I encouraged her to become a Pro seller, and she created an account.

Today I noticed one of her new “gigs” had an eerily similar title to mine, so I read the description – and 75% of the copy was pulled word for word from my own gig. I then scrolled through her other gigs, and I noticed A LOT more plagiarism. In some cases, it was literally copy-paste.

I reached out to her and she responded:

“Maddie, I am so embarrassed. When I was submitting gig after gig for approval for this category, I couldn’t seem to get it to ‘pass.’ I had every intention of adjusting my copy once it went live and I never did. Life got in the way. You’ll see I’ve deleted my gig. I’m so sorry!”

She only deleted one gig, though. The plagiarism was still pretty blatant in two others. I sent her another follow-up message – this one much more firm – and she removed all but a few sentences that she’d taken to me.

What makes this whole thing even weirder is that after we talked on Facebook – pre-Fiverr – she added me, followed me on Instagram, and asked me to grab coffee once when she traveled to my state (I was out of town). I can’t even begin to fathom why she would do this, and the whole thing is very disappointing.

I’m just here to vent, so thanks for listening! Have any of you ever had your gig descriptions stolen?

this is very common problem day by day . I am speechless and have no idea what to say . Once I complained with proof but do you know what I got. Support said to me to change all . and after I changing all contents , gig is no longer available on first page. And I am not getting sales from that gig .