Appearing in your own gig videos?

Hi there,

I am a writer here on Fiverr and I am planning to add videos to my gigs. I was thinking of recording myself talking about my gig, but I noticed that everyone else has animated or typography videos. The only people who I’ve seen appearing in their own videos are voiceover artists. Is there a reason the animated videos are dominating? Is it hard to get a video of yourself approved, or are animated videos more effective? Or do people just not want to go on camera? Your tips are much appreciated.

Thanks,
adrover

I belive that most people are not comfortable with appearing in a video ( i’m certainly not). Statistically a video can boost your views (if I don’t remember wrong), but I prefere to not appear in a video and put some images instead. Also, I’m not English native speaker so the result wouldn’t be professional.

I personally would prefere the real seller in a video, rather than a cartoon :slight_smile:

I do not care for videos except for voice artist - I’ve been toying with the idea of using one but haven’t gotten around to it yet. All the animated videos are the same - it’s basically whiteboard telling me why and what to order.

It’s time consuming to load, hit play and hit play again - don’t know why but I have to hit play twice and then wait for it to load - then it’s virtually the same animation that the other four sellers had on their gigs.

I prefer to see a really great profile page and gig page with unique samples - something to grab my attention. I don’t even bother looking at animation video anymore.

That’s interesting. I’ve used a video because Fiverr advise you that a video can help you convert more. Now I’m doubting hehe.

I am not a seller, but an avid buyer; therefore, I have no idea if it will or will not convert to sales.

I guess it depends on what you are selling. If you are selling whiteboard animation, it may not be a bad idea. Video on the “Fun & Lifestyle” is fun to watch.