Fiverr Forum

Applying Standard Fees On Tips?

I may be completely out of place by stating this, but I think Fiverr treating a tip as if it was a purchase of a gig and taking a fee respectively ($10 tip, $2 fee taken) is absolutely 100% ludicrous. I work as a server waiting tables for a living, using Fiverr to supplement my income, and I liken this to my boss who makes almost $1,000,000 yearly snagging $2 off of the table before I come to clear it, clean it, and collect my tip. All of the buyers whom I’ve spoken with think that this is bogus as well, and strongly believe, as I do, that a tip is a tip, and not any kind of purchase that should have a fee applied to it. I’ve spoken on this with many of my clients, and I welcome any thoughts below pertaining to this practice on the behalf of Fiverr. I mean, they already apply two fees to our earnings, 20% pre-purchase, and 1.2% pre-transfer, is adding a fee on a hard earned tip really necessary?

You’re right, it does feel unfair - but the alternative is everyone selling $5 gigs and then getting buyers to send the remaining amount as tips. I can’t think of another way of preventing that ¯_(ツ)_/¯

Without fiverr there would be zero tips. I think it’s fair to give them 20% of any money we get on this site.

mindlessmuzik it is absolutely sick… I was one of the first people to jump down their throat about taking fees on tips. Fiverr is very greedy indeed. … Kinda why I laughed when they just got hacked the other day. Totally deserved it …

Reply to @misscrystal: When you take into account the 1000’s of orders they are taking 20% on … its just a bit ridiculous…

Its not like the customer support team is worth a damn. When you have a problem they side with the buyer 95% of the time.

Sellers get treated like crap here. Hands down , thats the truth. 10% is a MUCH better number considering all the problems this site has.