Fiverr Forum

Art Copyright: I drew it, he colored it, who owns it?

I drew a picture, and wanted to get it colored so I could put it on my website. I hired a fiver artist to color it for me, paying $20 for the service. I did this through a portrait painting gig, though no portrait was painted, just my picture colored in.

he now tells me that if I want to use the picture he colored for my website, I would have to pay him for the copyrights. I own the copyright for the original picture, of that I have no doubt, do I now have to pay him extra for the rights to the colored version?

the portrait gig I used to interact with him does state a copyright purchase, but I did not use his service to paint a portrait, only to color my picture, and I did not just give him the picture and tell him to color it however he wanted, giving specifications to what I desired in it. I am new to fiver, & I am Not sure what rules there are concerning this. I drew it, he colored it, who owns it?

you own it, i would proceed to use it. The service was coloring the photo in. That’s what you paid for. He is going to re copyright something that you created? it doesn’t work that way. just like if you paid him to crop the photo. just because he cropped it, doesn’t mean he owns the copyright to the newly cropped photo. Times must really be hard if a seller is doing that just to get some extra money. Tell that seller to get real.

Reply to @kjblynx: copyright doesn’t work that way. He owns all derivatives of his work. A person cannot modify his work and claim it as his own, this was a ordered to color in the photo, just like if he wanted it cropped or modified in any other way. The seller is just wants more money clearly when they should have just charged more in the first place.