Fiverr Community Forum

Avoiding bad buyers?

Hey all, this is my first post and I’m sure there are many like it. I’d appreciate any perspectives!

I’m a music producer and sell instrumentals here, a vast majority of my experiences have been great! I just had my first bad experience with a buyer and I would like your perspectives or advice on what to look for as far as red flags for buyers.

A buyer reached out to me asking for an instrumental and said that they needed it within three hours but wasn’t sure if they should order because they don’t know what they’ll get. They provided me with a link to an example instrumental and asked if I could make something similar. I offered to make a short snippet(20 seconds of music) to ease the worries of the buyer and I would then use the snippet to build the rest of the instrumental. The buyer seemed to like it and wanted to move forward so I made the desired instrumental. Upon delivery the buyer told me the instrumental I sent was bad and nothing like what they were after even though it was an extended version of what I already sent them before they even ordered. I went through with the refund(via cancellation) because there seemed to be no way to please this buyer within the short time span and I did not want a bad review. The buyer essentially got a free instrumental from me but that’s life, I can’t do anything about that now.

Was a refund/cancellation the best way to go or could I have approached this differently? Is the slight dock in gig completion (dropped from 100% to 95%) more or less significant than getting a one-star review? Do you have any recommendations for red flags to look out for when someone is making an order?

I know its impossible to avoid “bad buyers” but any perspectives are useful. Thanks!

4 Likes