Fiverr Forum

Basic VO rights cover Youtube--Change my mind

I’m a little miffed that I’ve had some issues with VO talents claiming that I need Commercial or Full Broadcast Rights to use a VO in a Youtube production. The issues have not been large or problematic for me but it’s something I’d rather avoid when paying someone for a service.

I’m not a lawyer but I’m pretty schooled in legalese since a side hobby of mine is making and selling things out of beer or soda cans. Very few people have more than an inkling of copyright or trademark laws and the legal interpretation of them.

The Terms of Service doesn’t seem that ambiguous to me and yet nowhere on these forums or in Fiverr’s elaborations can I see a consensus.

In the terms of service it says:

“For Voice Over Gigs, when the work is delivered, and subject to payment, the Buyer is purchasing basic rights, (which means the Buyer is paying a one time fee allowing them to use the work forever and for any purpose except for commercials, radio, television and internet commercial spots). If you intend to use the Voice Over to promote a product and/or service (with the exception of paid marketing channels), you will need to purchase the Commercial Rights (Buy-Out) through Gig Extra. If you intend to use the Voice Over in radio, television and internet commercials, you will need to purchase the Full Broadcast Rights (Buy-Out) through Gig Extra. For further information on the type of buy-outs, please read below.”

Youtube is a public forum. Throughout the terms it’s pretty clear that there’s a distinction with commercials no matter what medium they are transmitted on. Last time I checked, I’m not selling anything. Hell my channel isn’t even monetized. The use of the word ‘commercial’ may be at the root of the confusion since the word is sometimes interpreted as a general money-making venture. The plurality of ‘commercials’ sort of does away with that though.

So is there something I’m missing?!