Fiverr Community Forum

BEWARE: Pushy Buyer - How to Keep Your Cool?

Hello all,

I just need to vent for a moment. I’ve been selling erotic fiction here for little over two months now, and in all that time I’ve come across buyers who’s request often strays from the beaten path. I don’t really mind writing things that are out there, or a fetish that may be hardcore. (I list a few things I don’t write about in my Gig description just to be clear, and to cover myself in case someone presses if I refuse).

I haven’t come across any buyer who was rude or asked for something outside of my comfort zone; the one time it even got close, I requested to change the details of the story and he accepted.

That being said, today I came across a buyer who was not only pulling the “what can I get for $5” stunt, but also requested the details of the story be revealed AFTER the Custom Order was made; currently, I only have one package set to my lowest price ($10/500 words) so that I can discuss word counts with clients - I found a lot of people were either buying my lowest package or out-pacing my highest package so I decided to make it easier on everyone and foster communication in that regard to easily create Custom Gigs for potential buyers.

Well… I figured I could offer 250 words for $5, not so difficult, right? Wrong. I won’t do that in the future and have thoroughly learned my lesson. The following interaction was demanding and, quite frankly, raised a ton of red flags for me.

He immediately launched into describing a scene that involved a woman slipping and falling, and wanted me to detail the event closely. I advised I wouldn’t write about blood or anything like that (I’m not comfortable causing characters bodily harm outside of specific scenarios) and he agreed. I told him I would contact him when the story was written so I could deliver it.