Buyer contacted through messages, but didn't want to place order

petitefille

Hi all,

Need some advices from you here as I’m a newbie in fiverr. The story is like this. I’ve got several buyers contacted me through messages, asking me to design stuff. When I did what they wanted, they asked for the file to be delivered but through messages. I’ve told them several times already that I will only give them the final file when they place through order as I too need some feedback and review for my gig. After I told them that, they just went quiet. No more news.

Fiverr is really an exciting place for me to do some freelance job as I do enjoy learning designing and stuff but this kind of thing is such a bummer. I get buyers messaging me at the moment, I don’t know if I should tell them to place the order first then I can start to do the work because I don’t want them to go missing again. What should I do? Help! 😦

Yes, I too sometimes get potential buyers get me to send videos of my work through personal messages, but I am firm and tell them that I will not unless they order.

Patience is everything though. Sometimes I get no sales one day, other times 1 or 2, then I get days when I’m flooded with 8-10 new orders. Don’t put yourself down 🙂

petitefille said: I don't know if I should tell them to place the order first
Yes, Absolutely! They MUST place the order first. Dont be fooled by these scammers trying to get freebies from you. Both you and Fiverr loose out so YOU might wind up getting in trouble for it. Cut to the quick and say, "If you want something done, place an order and then I can help you all you want."

Thanks for the advice all! Maybe I’m just too focused on getting the review. One more thing, what if they already place an order, but when I delivered the work, the buyer went missing as well. When I contacted them asking if there’s anything they’d like to change/if the design is okey, no reply, at all. What should I do?

• 2 weeks later...