Fiverr Community Forum

Buyer created dispute because they couldn’t provide enough clips for the video

I edit music videos as my gig and the buyer wasn’t able to provide me enough clips for the video. He begged me to cancel the order so I did. I had no idea, because I’m new to fiverr, that this would cause my cancellation rate to go to 50%. I tried to contact him and say maybe he could help me figure this out but he ended up blocking me and I saw on his social media that he edited it himself. I saw this as possibly a scam attempt and I’m not sure what to do. I have been offering $5 projects that take me over a week of non stop work just to build my reputation. I already emailed fiverr and told them what happened but I’m not sure what to do. Thank you.

5 Likes

Low prices attract scammers. Don’t know if this one was such, but you shouldn’t undersell your service.

1 Like

What exactly do you want? Fiverr to help catch the thief or Fiverr to reverse 50% cancellation rate? I doubt if that would be possible.

The only possible thing I am sure of is that you should let it be and move on to the next job. If no job yet, wait, it will definitely come. Take it as a loss. People encounter loses all the time in business.

Do you know that even if you didn’t cancel that order and the buyer is bent on cancellation that he can get PayPal to get Fiverr to cancel it? Yes, Fiverr will cancel it and owe you no explanation. The only thing they can do is to block the buyer’s account, and the buyer can still decide to open another Fiverr account using a new detail.

I have to say all that to you, so you understand why you just need to move on as fast as you can.

All the same, since you have contacted CS, wait for them. While you wait, let it be.

I just wanted to make sure I was getting orders. I really enjoy doing this and it’s not about the money for me right now, I just want to build up a reputation.