Fiverr Forum

Buyer Flips Out!

I’m an illustrator and this woman orders from me. Good. Great. No problem.

My delivery time is set at 29 days but I usually deliver earlier. Well, she comes to me after having already placed her order and says that she’ll need a total of 15 illustrations within 4-6 weeks. Basically, this gives me 2-3 days per illustration. I tell her that I’ll have to adjust my style to something that can be done in that amount of time.

Still, no problem.

I draw her up a sketch, she approves it. Then I haul tail and deliver the finished illustration to her. But after I deliver I realize that I’m totally unhappy with it. I ask her to reject it because I want to do something less cartoony and with more atmosphere.

No response from her.

That’s fine, I move forward anyways.

I go in and pour over other illustrations on the internet. I experiment with digital brush after digital brush in search of a texture congruent with the look I’m after.

Then I tackle color harmonies.

Basically, what I was after was a look that could be accomplished in two days but didn’t look like it took only two days.

I do a new sketch for her that I am extremely happy with.

Then she responds…

This woman totally rails on me! Saying that “this isn’t what we agreed upon” and “where’s my sweet, talented Dave, I miss him.” (brings to mind an old woman talking to a cat on her lap)

And then she goes into, "Don’t undermine me! Why do you produce great work for everyone else and not me? Because I’m a woman?"

DID I MISS SOMETHING???

She didn’t even ask me to make any changes. I took that initiative on my own.

She said a lot of stuff that I won’t go into here. But, seriously, it was very weird for me.

I put in a cancellation request because this person seems entirely way too unstable.

Am I wrong?