Fiverr Community Forum

Buyer Wants Me To Purchase Product Before Gig Starts

Relatively new to Fiverr and just received a request for my lowest tiered gig ($10). I am a Product Photographer. I told the buyer to send me the product with a paid return label so that I can send it back or the other option would be if he wanted me to keep the product.

The buyer wants me to purchase the product first, fulfill the gig and then reimburse me I think? He is from Germany and writes in broken english so it was a little hard to understand. Here is the last text he sent:

“I will send you our product link, pls order it from my Amazon store firstly.It will be more convenient and lower cost for us.And kindly let you know that the product will be free for you to make the picture for me. The people who made video for me was order it from my amz store firstly before ,and gave me the order ID to back for them a full refund by Paypal.”

I told him that I can not do that and if he wanted me to continue, he would need to ship the product to me.

Is this something that is a regular thing that buyers request?
Is this against Fiverr policy to do that?

He ultimately declined. The last message was:

“it doesn’t matter,thank you anyway”

I could not find any info about this in the Terms of Service or anywhere in the forum. Any help on this topic would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

2 Likes

You did the right thing as you are a product photographer and not a product link photographer. :wink:

Red Flag: So he has no access to his own products or he is trying to scam you?

You are lucky that the buyer sent you his request prior to placing an order. If you spend some time here, you will find cases here in which the buyer ordered/demanded things which the sellers are not even selling on their gigs by placing random orders.

You should also thank him that he turned away and saved you from a ton of troubles.

1 Like