Buyers can request modifications but sellers don't have the option to reject jobs

A buyer of mine recently “rejected” a delivery of mine…which I didn’t even know was possible. He just wanted a few modifications, which I was happy to make, but it got me thinking…why do buyers have the ability to reject deliveries but sellers don’t have the option to reject orders? As a writer, I get a lot of people on this website that want me to do their homework for them (which is illegal…) or copy someone else’s content “in my own words” (again…illegal). Cancellations affect our level status, don’t they? So I have to risk losing my level status (and revenue) if I don’t want/am morally opposed to a job, but buyers can “reject” my work, even if all they want are a few changes? I don’t see how that’s fair.

@hellocharlie fiverr will never do that but I’ve already signed a petition from you on the cancellations.

I hate to sound cynical, but The Customer is not only King on Fiverr, they are gods. Fiverr wants its 20% and the sellers have to deal with whatever it takes for them to get it and keep it.

shrug That’s the way it is and that’s going to be the way it stays. Is it short-sighted? Yeah, but the quick buck that sticks is Fiverr’s goal – if sellers do okay in spite of it, well, that’s just an unexpected bonus.

Yea as a writer, theres nothing u can do. U have to either revise or refund the buyer.

Reply to @articlemachine: I’m totally fine doing the revisions. When I deliver my work, I make sure to add a note that says I’m happy to make any changes the buyer sees fit…it’s the fact that I have to cancel inappropriate requests. A buyer can reject my work, but I can’t reject an order without risking my level status? Like crcanny said, I guess the buyer is king.