Buyers don't respect rates - help!

alainawis

I’ve been doing voiceover for about 3 years now, so I’m not a rookie anymore. Naturally, I’ve increased my rates over time, as my experience has broadened and my equipment has been upgraded. But I keep running into buyers on Fiverr who beg me to give them discounts. One common excuse is that “there will be repeat business.” But why would I want repeat business at less than half my rate? Especially because Fiverr takes a cut, I can’t afford to work for less than the rates I’ve chosen. Some buyers just don’t seem to back down, whereas I have plenty of clients who are willing to pay more for higher quality work. How can we handle this situation? Is there a way Fiverr can better educate buyers so that they don’t expect 70% discounts?

I understand how you feel. Especially with the sellers that offer long term work. I have found something that helps me in that situation and might help you too.

I created a ‘quick response’ that has a small blurb about how I offer discounts to repeat buyers and that I would be happy to offer a discount to them as well after they have placed some orders. I just make sure that they know they pay full price first, and we’ll talk discount later. This has helped weed out a lot of the discount chasers for me.