Fiverr Forum

Buyers requesting resumes and degrees

Every once in a while, I get a message from a buyer asking all sorts of questions, like they are hiring me for some prestigious position:

Hello there,

I was inquiring about your “gig” as I wanted to know some more details about your background and professional experience in the field of editing. Where does your degree originate from?

I was interested in reviewing your resume prior to hiring you for my document. I have a 6,000-word novella that I would like for you to review. I prefer to start with basic editing.

Please send back your credentials at your earliest convenience.

Sincerely,
[snob]

I get similar messages all the time. Who expects an accredited editor for $5? I’m a professional in my field, but I’m not sending you my resume. It’s a freelance platform :stuck_out_tongue_closed_eyes:

And you take your $10 purchase rather seriously, my friend!

What a :japanese_goblin::japanese_goblin::japanese_goblin:!

Tell him/her a novella is at least 16,000 words. A 6000 word is barely a short story. :wink:

What fantasy world does that person live in?

Pfft. I wouldn’t order from anyone until I know their life story, their genealogy, and their personal, career, and family goals. Anything less must mean that the seller is fake. [sarcasm] :wink:

I’ve encountered many people who think a story around 5000 words is a “novella” (a short story is apparently under 2500 words).

Many others call anything over 15,000 words a novel :smile:

Seriously? Resume & Degree to get a $5 job? :sweat_smile:

This buyer lands into the: “get everything you want before hiring you otherwise I’m not hiring you” category. :grinning:

Ah, yes, the big shots are great, “I want a resume and I want to talk to references.” …um, that’s not how things work around here. But hey, “This will lead to an on-going business relationship.” …even though what they’re offering per month isn’t even enough for a case of beer.