BUYERS TIP: Spot a fake portfolio

corvega

Im a graphic designer and sometimes I like to check out the competitions portfolio.
To my surprise Ive come across several Sellers who post work on their portfolio thats not theirs.

These arent Level 1 or new Sellers. We’re talking Level 2 and above.
I came across a website that allows you to upload an image and the site will indicate where that image is shown.

Ive seen Sellers post images on their portfolio that belongs to a Stock Image site.
Simply goto www.tineye.com

I use the Snippet tool from Windows 7 and copy the image I want searched.
Its that simple.

This is mainly for Buyers looking for graphics work.
Good luck in your search for good honest designers.

My point being that your profile may otherwise be fine, but altering or using another companies work may be against copyright law. Grease:

Phonographic Copyright § – RSO Records, Inc.
Copyright © – RSO Records, Inc.
Record Company – Deutsche Grammophon GmbH
Pressed By – Phonodisc B.V.
Lacquer Cut At – Phonodisc B.V.
Pressed By – Phonodisc GmbH
Lacquer Cut At – Phonodisc GmbH
Credits
Art Direction – Glenn Ross
Copyist – Bob Borenstein*
Design – George Corsillo-Gribbitt*, Tim Bryant (2)
Producer – Louis St. Louis (tracks: A2, B1 to B4, B6, C1 to C6, D1 to D3, D5, D6)

Ho ho ho ho ho ho ho ho hoist by your own petard!

Commercial use, dude.

Additionally, instead of using Tineye, which is useful, you can also just right click on the image and select “search with Google Images”. Tineye also has a right click extension for the ultra-lazy, like me.

I thought about mentioning Google but I felt lazy and hoped someone else would do it. Thanks! 🙂

I use Google when I’m on Chrome because of the lazy feature. I have found that if I’m on a major image hunt, Tineye sometimes finds things Google misses. Not often, though. So, my vote is, post has some use but OP needs more originality.