Can I give outright FREE offers here?

I’m new in this new country called Fiverr and I understand more than anything else that here, positive reviews are diamond and, for now, I needed them more than dollars. I trust my ability a lot but there is no way anyone could really be sure I have any worthwhile value to offer. So, I’m thinking of giving out absolutely free service (like writing blog articles) in return for reviews. Now, this is not supposed to be a bribe. Instead, if you honestly think you couldn’t have happily parted with $5 for the service I must have given you, you’d be free in conscience not to write any review for me.

But, I notice you can’t create a gig without assigning a price to it. So, I’m wondering how I could possibly give out 100% free offers to prove what a value you stand to gain by ordering my gigs. So, somebody help: how do I go about this?

No. To get reviews, you need to get legitimate sales. $5 is not too far from free, especially if you offer far more than a $5 value per gig. There is no mechanism for free gigs here, though, and while you can give work away to get sample work, you can’t get reviews that way.

Thanks for your response @fonthount. But, how do I establish the trust needed to start off? I’m almost sure people are ignoring my gigs after viewing them because they can’t see positive reviews already. Yet I know, if I have been able to render my services to even a few people, they’d be so happy they might consider giving me reviews.

Alright, as an alternative to free OFFERS, how do I give out the free SAMPLES you talked about? Would it be accepted on the forums here? And in which category? Thanks a lot.