Fiverr Forum

Can someone explain how delivery time and order timer work?

I’m a video game journalist who is currently offering news articles through Fiverr. Because of this, it’s pretty important that my articles are ready to publish ASAP, usually within a few hours after the game’s publisher/developer has made the announcement or something has surfaced.

Therefore, the delivery time on my gig is 1 day (the shortest time I can choose). However, when a buyer places an order, the timer starts.

If I have several orders coming in (unlikely, but I am being optimistic here) when I’m asleep or otherwise not working (after I’ve finished for the day), the timer will start regardless.

How exactly does this timer work? Does Fiverr expect freelancers to being working 24/7? What if a buyer places an order on the weekend? Does the timer start for every order in the queue all at once or only for the most recently placed one?

If you set your gig up for 1 day delivery and the buyer places an order, the timer starts counting backwards for each individual order. So yes, you have to deliver within 24 hours. Make sure to set your delivery time accordingly. If you for example get 5 orders overnight, and your gig is set to 1 day delivery these will all be due in 24 hours. I hope that helps.

Thanks for clearing that up; I really appreciate it.

So, how do I balance giving myself enough time to complete orders in time and displaying an attractive delivery time (obviously I don’t want clients to think that it takes me x days to deliver something that actually takes me no more than an hour or so to write)?

The timer seems like a bit of an issue for freelancers. It looks like I’d need at least 2 - 3 days delivery time, just to cover orders coming in late Friday or over the weekend.