Can you break payments into segments/milestones? (animation work))

agervaisdesign

Not sure if there are already topics on this but I wasn’t too sure how to word it so I figured I might as well ask anyway.

I was just wondering if there are ways to break down steps for an order to have separate payments? I have one gig open for my animations but I’m still somewhat new to this whole process and I put a lot of work into each project so I’m worried I’m either going to wind up not getting orders, doing more work than I initially present in my gig info/being underpaid, or if a client decides they only like part of a project but not the whole/finished product, if that makes sense? I’m not too worried about being underpaid right now because I’m just starting out and I need to get my ratings going to help with my other gigs (still no orders yet!), but for example let’s say I start an animation project and they pay me the base amount then want a storyboard for the first part to see where it’s going, then I do the animations and character work, etc., and they change their mind halfway through, or want me to start over, or want to keep some parts but change others, then I wind up doing more work and/or taking longer than what I put in my gig info, or they wind up unhappy with my work or anything like that.