Fiverr Community Forum

Charging Prospective Buyers for Tech Support?

Hi all!

So I am a programmer that does scripting for my Fiverr buyers. There are times when a prospective buyer will come to me with a request that is better served by something other than one of my scripts. An example would be Syncing calendars between Google and Office365. There are lots of other solutions out there that would do a better job than a script I could write (in my example situation Zapier would be a better solution to sync two online calendars). So I want to lead the buyer to the best solution, which is not always hiring me for the job. But I kind of feel like I am giving out free tech support / advice. And if I am giving you advice on how to get the best solution to your problem, I feel like that advice is worth something to the prospective buyer. So do I create a $5 gig, and ask them to purchase this “tech support gig” before answering their question? Do I give them the answer, and then ask them, if they found my advice valuable to “Please buy my tech support gig”? Or do I just keep giving advice away for free? Would love to hear other sellers thoughts on this.

3 Likes

If you give a buyer the answer, they won’t pay you. I’d simply create a tech support gig. Then when people message you, let them know that you would be happy to take a look at their problem and offer s potential solution, if they order from your gig.

My guess is that most won’t.

You could also just say that you don’t offer free technical support and leave it at that. I’ve had dozens of people message me about my Flippa auction listing writing gig. All want to know if I think their website will sell and how they can improve their listing. However, none want to actually place an order. In this case, I just tell them I can;t help.

Generally if someone doesn’t want to pay, they will be troublesome to work with if you do persuade them to place an order.

2 Likes