Fiverr Forum

Clients who ask for a free sample

Lately, 70% of clients will ask me for a free sample (regardless of sending them my portfolio). I’m a music producer / mixer / writer - so asking for a free sample can sometimes take a long time. How does everyone else explain to their clients that it’s not fair to ask for a free sample? Some clients get extremely defensive when I try to explain that my time isn’t free.

( fiverr.com/danielmorgan_ )

i never do samples! because it takes time!
and i am busy with my orders! i always send my portfolio! if they get interested they order it , simply

Don’t give anything for free!! put a PRICE TAG on your samples!!

I think what your potential clients are asking are for examples of your work, they want to see what you’ve done before they order! I can see that you only have your gig video to showcase some of your work.

Here’s a tip, enable delivery portfolio. When you deliver a client’s project and they review it their work will show up for future clients to review.

I never been asked for a sample in terms of music production and writing. I always give samples on the engineering side just to make sure they are okay with the finished product. But as far as writing or production, there are no samples. If they are not okay with that, they aren’t someone you wanted to work with anyway.

I sometimes provide samples to Top Rated Buyers only if the order he is going to place is going to be atleast $50

Amount may vary as per your service.

I must tell you, even when some cleints get free sample they don’t come back and end up using your free sample

I have a saved quick reply that says, I don’t make free samples because it is as time consuming as completing an order. I suggest that they buy a $10 gig to get 100 words narrated as a test . Most do, if they don’t want to, you just avoided working with a cheap client.