Conversations that go nowhere

lisamareebirch

What a week!

I have had plenty of lovely gigs, but since putting up some writing ones (as opposed to reading/editing that other creatives tend to buy), my inbox has been way too noisy.

I am hoping I’m not alone here, but essentially the conversations go like this:
-I want to purchase your gig for this thing (OK)
-Send me samples (Done)
-You need to know I will run everything through Copyscape (I wouldn’t know how to plagiarise anyway, so go for it)
-Why are you charging too much?!/Why are you charging too little?/Actually, I now want research as well, but I don’t know what the topic will be yet. (ARGH!)

I don’t want my response rate to go down, so I reply even when they have ended the conversation with a thank you or they have been obnoxiously rude (I’m a teacher, my rudeness scale is quite broad). Am I doing the wrong thing here?!

Despite all this, I have had a few really good gigs from the Buyers Request boards, as well as some ‘cold calling’ direct to my inbox.

Eventually you get used to it. I’m not a writer but I get tons of messages that are more annoying than those. You could try using ready made responses to some of the more common questions.

I get very long winded biographies and am expected to read them when doing so would take me 20 minutes. I’m not sure what people are thinking who do that.
I send a prepared response to those that say what they are looking for is not in line with what I offer.

Not to make light of your hectic week, but that is pretty much the norm if you have a busy gig.

A few months ago I had to take some time off for a family emergency. I was gone almost a month. Prior to my month absence, my gigs were fairly busy. When I came back, my gigs died.