Fiverr Community Forum

Crazy buyer. I'm freaking out

Hi guys! I’m fairly new to fiverr and didn’t know who to turn to about this. I wrote a 5,000 word e book for a client that was quality work. I have only received positive reviews and repeat clients before him. He asked me to cancel the order and threatened a bag review if I didn’t instead write 5 1,000 word articles for him. What would you do in this scenario? I feel so disheartened by this and scared for how this will effect my performance.

7 Likes

You could report the threats using the report button or maybe in a ticket.
I’m not sure what the best other thing to do is. Some people might accept to cancel but then say that they lose the rights to it if they do and some sellers might publish it themselves if their buyers cancelled (if they hold the necessary rights).

2 Likes

He is attempting to blackmail and bully you. Like any bully, you need to stand up to him.

Most scum buyers like yours assume that sellers are afraid of receiving bad feedback and will cancel an order after delivery in order to avoid such feedback. The result is of course that the bully walks away with your work for free. And of course like any bully, if you agree to do the extra work unpaid - they will only come back for more.

Personally. I like to fight fire with fire and have a little fun with such scum. I would firstly report him to customer support enclosing a clear screenshot of his threat and blackmailing words.

I would then message him saying that you have reported him, and that you will not be doing any extra work outside of the scope of the order. He won’t be expecting that, which is the fun part.