Didn’t receive critical information from buyer and they won’t reply. Running out of time!

cc99williams

Hi everyone! I am very new to Fiverr and I just got my first order yesterday! I was hired to proofread about 3,000 words of writing, but the buyer never attached the document I’m supposed to read. I realize I should’ve made that a mandatory requirement before letting the service timer start, but again I am very new to this and didn’t realize that was something I needed to do. I asked for them to try to reattach the document about two hours after the 24 hour timer started. However, they did not get back to me. I have 7 hours to complete the project now, and I asked for an extension. What do I do if they don’t approve it or get back to me? This is my first job on here and I was really excited to do it, but now I’m scared I’m going to lose credibility on here for turning in a project late when I was never even given the actual project in the first place! I hope that makes sense.

We were all new to Fiverr once - and yes, it is a rookie mistake not to make it a mandatory requirement to attach a document! You have my sympathy. I’ll offer some facts and thoughts…

A buyer does not have to agree to a time extension. From memory a buyer can cancel an order uncontested 24 hours after the original delivery deadline has expired - the fact they didn’t attach a document has no bearing on this.

Even if your buyer does eventually submit the document, a late delivery is a late delivery - no matter where the fault is.

While many new sellers do offer a 24 hour service, the sensible ones soon realise that this is not a good idea. It simply isn’t enough time to allow for time differences, communication fails, sleep, etc.