Difficult client: what can they do, what can I do?

lynnleamay

Hi! I have been selling on Fiverr for around 1,5-2 years now and I have had easy-going clients and more difficult ones. But now a client came back to me after 1 month and asked for a refund. This came out of nowhere for me as I delivered my work and never heard back from them until now.

Background: I created a face filter for their Instagram. After the first delivery, I adjusted the filter 3-4 times but then the client stopped talking to me after my last delivery. This was on the 7th of March.

Now, the client texted me again and asked for a refund. I asked why they suddenly wanted a refund. First, the client said he wants to stop using filters so there is no point for him to create one (remember: I delivered one month ago). However, I said I am afraid but this does not really sound like a valid reason to me as otherwise all my clients could get back to me at some point claiming the same. I even offered the client to adjust the filter again for free if there is something wrong with the filter. Now they texted me back in a rude manner saying that they just wanted to be nice but they think I did not do my job, they don’t like it, they want their money back.

I am a bit unsure now what I should do. Of course, I know it is a client’s right to ask for a refund. However, I think it is a bit strange to ask for a refund after 1 month and given the client’s first reason I am a bit unsure what I should believe. But I also care about my statistics and I do not want any bad reviews.

Any tips or ideas how I should deal with this? What would you do? And can this client still give me bad ratings/reviews after a period of 1 month?

Thanks!

The key thing to remember here is that they can no longer leave negative feedback.

From memory I think buyers have 10 days from the point of delivery to leave feedback - after this they can’t. So, they can’t now maliciously trash your feedback profile.