Fiverr Forum

Do not waste your time with 5$ gigs

Hi everyone, This is my first time posting on the forum and I’ll love to help the newbies here. Its been almost a year I’ve been using Fiverr & I have learn’t a lot. I had a bad experience with a buyer.

The buyer posted a request around late November 2018. I sent an offer & even forgot I did. At that time I wasn’t really getting orders & was shooting at almost every gig related to my services (Translation, Business Naming and Brand Identity, Fashion Advice, Styling & Consulting).

In the request the buyer wrote ‘looking for a personal stylist to put together looks for a male. Please provide links to look books or any style profile that you have’’.

The buyer messaged me asked for pictures from Pinterest to see my sense of style for men. I thought okay this wasn’t from my portfolio anyways so I sent some reference. Before I could even read what on what he wanted to achieve he had already placed a 5$ order. His request & my gig didn’t correlate because he needed me to outsource outfits which wasn’t worth 5$. With all due respect I told him I’d have to charge extra. Next thing he cancels. I told him I’d do the work anyways so as to not affect my profile. I pleaded & pleaded, even told him to close the order I will issue a refund because I really value my work & won’t like to jeopardize my ratings. I wanted to be on a neutral ground with him. He then told me to go on with the order. I did the work & even gave bonuses. I delivered eventually and then he says cancel it its not what I want. He got free work & my order completion plummeted because I had no choice but to cancel the order.

Key points to take home newbies:

• Work at your pace & don’t shoot at every gig nor work for cheap because you want to boost your profile and earn quick. I’ve been there & its not worth it.