Fiverr Community Forum

Extra fluoride in the water supply

As a Voice Over artist, I felt it was necessary to invest a lot of money in acoustic treatment for my studio, as well as having industry standard mastering software, microphone and pre-amp.

Yesterday, I had a client order a internal voice-mail message job. I do the deed; sounds nice with no room ambiance, as was my intention. I fire across their order. About an hour later, I get a revision request, with a message saying:

“Hi, sounds great, but could you make it sound more like you’re in a room - it sounds too sound-proofed for me.Perhaps add some echo?”

Echo? For an voice mail system? That’s a new one on me, but sure, and while I’m at it, I could lay down some sick beats behind it as well, bruv, innit.

And “too sound-proofed”!?! Well, I could’ve avoided all that expense and just recorded the script on my smartphone in the downstairs toilet. You know, for that true professional touch.

Then another buyer asks for a quote for an audio-book. I price it up and it’s a biggie - one that could pay my rent and bills for the next two months and I certainly need that after that last two lean months of naff-all orders. I send over the quote, everything seems fine. Then there’s a lot of dithering, questions and then sporadic messages, saying that they’re in the process of ‘sorting everything out’.

Two weeks later, I get a message from someone and it turns out to be the same buyer, but they’ve opened a different account, because they “had trouble paying for the order on the previous account, so they’re going to try this one instead” and could I please resend the quote.

So I do. Guess what? They’re having trouble paying on that account as well.

Seriously, in the name of all things holy, drink some spring water. Stop tyre-kicking, filling me with false hope and wasting my time!!

8 Likes

This is why I only work with people who order directly on Fiverr.