Fiverr Forum

Free coffee and a frustrating cancellation request

Today I got a cancellation request that hit a nerve.

As a freelance writer, I know my work won’t resonate with everyone. Fiverr is a secondary source of income for me, and I’m fortunate to have a decent roster of clients on retainer through my website.

This shouldn’t have bothered me, but it did. It isn’t a big deal. And in the grand scheme of things, it doesn’t matter at all. But the way XXX phrased his message – ugh! (Note that only the first and final lines upset me. Everything XXX said in the middle was fair game.)

Hello Maddie, I wish I had better news.

My research on Fiver pointed me to you as the ideal person to write my XX. Unfortunately, my conclusion is that we are on different wave lengths. Your writing is far off what i expect for my XX as such i need to cancel this project.

Happy to buy you a coffee however I cannot use this material,

Yours Sincerely,
XXX

I just needed to rant about that syrupy-sweet, condescending cancellation request (after hours of work and a revision that clearly got me nowhere). Thanks for listening.

I listened and understood. Some days are like that.

At least we don’t have to commute, wear suits and work in cubicles… :grinning:

Thanks for your reply. I hear you!

It’s funny – I’m already over it, although I wish the client had been happy with my delivery. The first 10 minutes after receiving difficult feedback are always the toughest.

Ugh so patronizing. Did you end up accepting the cancellation request?
True about the first 10 minutes being the hardest after some gnarly feedback. For me it’s usually a solid hour on a good day haha.

Sometimes just writing it down is cathartic and clears the air. I should learn from you