Ghost writer sent me filler / fluff

I paid for a ghost writer to add an improved introduction and conclusion to the rough draft of my eBook. This seller was new - only 4 reviews - but what I read sounded good. Because the seller claimed to have a lot of writing experience I was like, “Sure!” Seller’s profile says location in the US.

What I got was…fluff. I’m a teacher and I can recognize filler / fluff over actual content. There’s phrasing and word choices that doesn’t sound quite…right. The writing doesn’t make sense. It is essentially unusable.

I sent back the draft for a revision marked up like an essay from one of my college students. (I would’ve given the seller a 70%)

The questions I’m dealing with are: How much grace should I extend? Am I just getting what I paid for ($15)? Were my instructions unclear?

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated!

Here’s the instructions I provided:

“Attached is a 2K Word rough draft “Prompts for Creative Writing: Character Development” for students or English teachers. Please improve the introduction about creativity. Encourage writers to use the prompts as a starting place, not give up, etc. Polish/Clarify the prompts for clarity and add some additional prompts. Add a conclusion.”

I was a little confused by the use of the word “prompts” but understand what you mean I think. Yes it’s a tiny bit unclear to me. I would need to see what you sent in the draft to further decide how difficult or unclear it was.

You chose a new unproven seller and paid $15 meaning the seller will receive $12.
You expected a person who has an excellent ability to craft words into the perfect paragraphs and I have seen about 90% of the sellers who are writers here who are nowhere near that level. Many write with the ability of no more than a ten year old, or someone who struggles with basic English.