Gig Extras?

seancooper885

I’m a newbie so this has probably been covered before but I can’t find anything here on an issue I’m pretty upset about.

Simply put, I need some art done - quite a lot of it over time as I’m doing a Tarot deck so it could be up to 80 images. My budget is tight, which I explained to my vendor. I really don’t have a lot of bucks at this point in my life and that’s why I’m here.

I explain my needs to the artist I’ve chosen and he makes a custom gig for me. Great product, though it came about a week late, but I left him good feedback because he gets what we’re doing and I feel good about it.

Except for the giant logo all over the images, which he now tells me will cost another $5 per image to remove.

I’ve seen a bit of this on fiverr and it strikes me as really unethical. It’s not signing his work or promoting his business - nobody will find the fiverr page from the logo. It’s just there to extort more than the agreed price.

I’m a musician, and if I sold music to spec and then gave the customer a track with me shouting all over it and politely explained that it’s extra to not have me shout all over it, I wouldn’t get repeat business from that customer. I wouldn’t get any business from anyone they talked to. No restaurant will have a menu that encourages you to pay extra for a meal without a cockroach in it. People wouldn’t even go to a business like that, but I see this sort of practice all over fiverr.

Does anyone actually pay for watermarked images? I thought those were the free ones and the ones you pay for are watermark-free. That’s how the rest of the world works, so I wonder if there’s a policy about it at fiverr?