Fiverr Community Forum

Gig removed for violating Terms of Service

Hello everyone, my name is Mikhail, and I’m a translator here on Fiverr. Yesterday I did a $20 job for my client who asked me to proofread their academic work and translate around 700 words of it (around one and a half pages out of 28) from Russian into English. I didn’t add anything to the document. I didn’t alter or modify or change its content in any way apart from merely fixing grammatical mistakes. Apparently, by doing so I violated Fiverr’s terms of service, and my gig was removed without providing me a chance to appeal the case or provide my reasons:

• I’ve been a loyal seller on this platform for over a year now, earning level 2 seller status a few months ago
  • There were over 200 finished orders on the removed gig, all of them were submitted on time
  • All of the 110+ reviews on the gig were five starred
  • I had no prior violations of Fiverr’s terms of service
  • A significant chunk of my monthly income comes from Fiverr

None of these reasons had any effect on Fiverr’s support team. I was told that deactivated gigs cannot be restored and that I should create a new one. Anyone who has worked with Fiverr knows that it will take ages to push a brand new gig into the top 10 where the removed gig has been for the last six months, if not more.

No punishment system works like this. Fiverr treats a minor offense the same way as the major one - by nuking your gig. There should be a system of appeals, warnings, probation time, you name it. Violations should have degrees of severity, and the punishment should be exerted proportionally. But now, in Fiverr’s logic, proofreading someone’s work is equal to entirely writing it for the client. In both cases, the gig will be taken down. However, the violations in those cases are obviously not the same.

Removing a gig like that is way too harsh. Hell, I can’t even open the gig’s page to see how it was presented so I could make a new one.

/rant over