Fiverr Forum

Gig removed re: plagiarism

My gig was removed because it violates policies of fiverr regarding plagiarism.
“Third party TOS violation - By taking part in doing someone else’s academic work (which will likely be submitted as the student’s own work) you are actively taking part in a violation of the integrity code of most, if not all, schools and academic institutions. This behavior can lead to the suspension or expulsion of students. Fiverr does not allow taking part in such fraudulent activities.”

My gig was offering to proofread and edit college admissions essays for students. They write the paper and I proofread it. I am a teacher and I proofread and edit work for students everyday.

I submitted a screenshot of another gig that is literally offering to completely write papers for students! Why are those not removed???

They haven’t been caught yet.

Other editors/proofreaders have complained about the same thing. It looks like Fiverr believes that students should proofread their own papers, and that having a professional doing it instead of them is cheating.

I too am a teacher and because I said I would type academic work I had to modify my gig. It is interesting though that many students, even nurses and other professionals are placing Buyer Requests looking for sellers to do their homework for them.

You’re a teacher yet you don’t see anything wrong with this?
What’s even worse is that you believe just because others are doing it, it’s OK. :disappointed:

Great! :slightly_smiling_face:

Not great! :slightly_frowning_face:

Are you planning on going to college to do the course for them as well?

Maybe find another gig you can offer which will stay within the ToS? :sunny:

Fiverr got a bad rap when the fake Amazon reviews scandal hit the press. Since then, the company has tried extra hard to improve its reputation. As mentioned, some prohibited gigs have slipped through the net, but that’s nothing compared to what it was.