Fiverr Community Forum

Got my funds in wrong currency upon withdrawal

TL,DR:

Summary

Withdrew $80 to paypal USD account, got 69 euros instead, converted to $75. No conversion was supposed to happen at all, but it did.

Hello everyone, I’m having a problem and here’s a bunch of excessive details to make sure this is not a “Did you check if your PC is on?” situation.
I tried searching for similar topics, but the similar ones I managed to find were about a misunderstanding/mistake on sellers part, but mine seems to be a bug(?) on fiverr’s part.

So today’s the day when I decided to withdraw the money I earned during my first week on fiverr. My choice was PayPal. I’ve been using paypal since 2011 to send and recieve payments. I recieve USD payments from other sites without any issues. I’m not new to this and I am very much aware that paypal’s exchange rates are outrageous.
And I knew from the start that conversion by paypal is to be avoided at all cost.
And that’s exactly why I never even attempted to switch the currency on fiverr to anything other than USD. (And even if I wanted to, fiverr doesn’t support my local currency, so why bother?)
I made sure to doublecheck.

So I thought I have everything in order and happily withdrew my $80

(screenshot taken before I reloaded the earnings page, so it says exactly what it said before withdraval)

However instead of plain and simple +80 USD to my USD paypal account I received 68.91 euros

Which paypal converted by it’s outrageous rates to $74.65 making it a ~7% loss for me.
Now I’m just glad I decided to check how it works and didn’t wait for a $1000 before withdrawal as I originally planned.

Any advise on what I should do now?
I don’t even dare to hope I can get a refund of $5+ lost, but how can I make sure this never happens again?
Is this a bug? Or does fiverr try to use the currency closest to your location automatically?