Graphic designers "lying" about their style/designs

I’m new to Fiverr, and I’ve ordered both a logo and t-shirt design from two different sellers, after being impressed with their portfolio. The products I received were nowhere near the style and quality that was shown. I know it’s only $5, but I just don’t like feeling like I was cheated and lied to. Anyone else have this issue?

One majorly common thing is that a designer either has some awesome art on the front page, and displays his average quality in the other pictures. This is something to watch out for, especially logo’s since it’s easy to copy a logo from a stock photo site and color it in.

Always make sure to communicate with the seller, and be sure to hammer down the level of quality offered. You cannot cancel a sale because of “taste” according to the Fiverr ToS, but you can if you agreed a level of quality before, or comparable art as reference.

You can always request a mutual cancellation, or instead of accepting the delivery, ask for a modification and ask the seller for proper quality work.

Do ask yourself though - what did you really expect for 5$? That’s the key.

Some jobs are not worth completing for 5$

I had the same thing happen. I bought a gig based on the designs on the artist’s page. What I received was incredibly amateurish in style, and I expressed my disappointment after she contacted me for a rating. I let her know that because what I received was so different in quality than what I had received, I could not in good conscience leave a good rating, but my core values wouldn’t let me leave a bad one. She cancelled the gig and I accepted the cancellation.

Understand that I will follow up any gig with the gig extras if the $5 turns out well.

The design? Trashed. I’d be way too embarrassed to use it!

Make sure to leave poor feedback. If you don’t rate the seller, no-one else gets the warning and it won’t show in their gig portfolio. They’ll have to request to have it removed.