Fiverr Forum

Help Me Drive my Cancellation Rate Down:

I have had a lot of good experiences with Fiverr. The best part is that I’ve written crowdfunding campaigns for those helping orphans and doctors trying to do amazing things around the world. One private plane company hired me which is super cool (to me. ha.)

I have since had to jack my rates WAY up and put in very strict rules to keep the nuts away. People will place orders for the dumbest things without asking me first. Someone wanted me to do work on Amazon.com but refused to send me the actual link to the page with the product. Instead I got this, “Third box over, this seller name, and this price!” Nowhere do I see what the customer is talking about. Uh hello everyone gets a different landing page on Amazon. CANCELLED. I am not Sherlock Holmes.

One lady ordered thousands of words about the weather in Seattle and sent over an awful example. “Write me a true snoozebag!” Rain is rain lady! When she complained about my brevity I may have told her that the example belonged in a museum to verbose writing.

I tend to cancel on people who just have lousy assignments without asking about them before buying. One lady wants seven press releases with unique content for the launch of her bracelet. You can only say so much about a bracelet being imported so it can be sold on Amazon. I have not been provided any details about the company which is pretty important to a press release. There is a press release for the start of the sale, a press release for the end of the sale, and multiple press releases about shipping. Stop the presses! I did this assignment but I have feeling she’s ready to leave me a complaint.

I’m annoyed that this cancellation rate reflects upon me. I have positive reviews but I’ve had to drop too many jokers. What are your best defenses against people who do goofy things like want to have a webinar before they have a website? Have you dropped any gigs because they were bringing out too many nuts?