Fiverr Forum

Help me understand revisions, when buyers ask too much

I’m an illustrator, and I’ve been working with a buyer who has asked for a lot of revisions. I know when you’re making an offer, you can specify how many revisions you allow for that price. But if the buyer still isn’t satisfied, I would rather keep working and get paid to finish the project, rather than cancel the order and waste both of our time, and I don’t get paid at all. What if I offer more revisions in an extra $5 and he doesn’t accept? I don’t want to risk having any cancelled orders, but now my order is marked late because he’s exceeded my limit! How do I get extensions?

Working on Fiverr, I often feel like my time isn’t being respected, and I find myself having to undersell my work because people have such high expectations for extraordinarily low pay. Granted, I’m not the most experienced, but I work quickly and am very accommodating, and I work hard to get the job done right. If it’s not right, I’ll fix it, whatever it takes. But at this rate, I’m working for $2 an hour and that’s not right.

For this particular buyer, feedback for the revisions is not specific enough for me to make proper changes. Saying things like it’s “not attractive” or the pose looks “weird” is not helpful. He had me start over on an entirely new design in the same order, but now my gig is marked late, and that will hurt my score!

If you’re a buyer reading this, please remember when you’re describing what you want, you need to be as specific as possible or artists can’t do their job! You have to improve your language if you’re looking for a very specific thing, or aren’t getting what you want. Plus, you should get what you pay for, so if you’re only paying $40, I don’t expect to spend more than 3 hours on it.