Fiverr Forum

How can I choose the best ebook writers?

Hi guys, I am relatively new to Fiverr here. I have been trying to find some of the more genuine eBook writers out here. I had some bad experiences with my first 3 gigs so far…

I admit that I chose my sellers by the avg reviews and ratings. However, I realised most of the reviews are potentially fake. Some of them even have the same ‘buyer’ reviewing them for 3 consecutive gigs.

Secondly, I noticed that my sellers were very friendly to me at first, telling me that they will produce top quality content and urging me to buy their gig. However after I placed my order with them, their tone changed TREMENDOUSLY…giving one word answer and cold attitude towards me. I wonder if any of the buyers here have the same experience as me so far?

And of course the last straw came when they were late in their orders (happened all the time with my ebook sellers) and one of them even marked it as delivered and trying to delay the actual delivery. I cancelled an order today, which ultimately wasted my own time and money…

Sorry for the long rant, but for those seasoned buyers who had successful working opportunities with eBook wrtiers, how do you actually pick them to ensure that they are the genuine ones?

If those reviews are “outstanding experience”, “good experience” (etc) then those are actually reviews that Fiverr automatically adds to the star rating if a buyer or seller doesn’t fill it out with a personalized review. They’re pretty meaningless, but not necessarily indicative of a scam.

I don’t offer eBook writing, but I’m wondering: what is your budget? What’s the subject area? Are we talking those flimsy “report” ebooks that are often used as a bribe to get people to sign up to an e mail list, short (say 10k) books to sell on Amazon in whatever niche you’re targeting or a “proper” eBook (30k and up)? I hardly need point out that there’s a huge difference between the first and the last.