How communicative should a seller be?

vagusvagus

I’ve never used Fiverr before, so I’m not sure what to expect in terms of ‘customer service’ from sellers. I realise a lot of them are quite busy. I placed an order to with someone ~3days ago to have a logo made. He had 40+ people in his queue, but his profile specifically states not to worry about that, because he always does his work on time. His reviews are good, and people seem happy, hence why I’m a bit dubious about posting this, but I’m still feeling uncomfortable so if someone could shed some light that would be great.

Immediately after I’d made payment I sent a message to the seller giving a basic idea of what I would like in the logo, as there were no instructions given as to what he needs from me as the buyer. I was expecting him to get back to me with a few questions to refine the idea in his head of what I’m after (I have no idea what is required in making something creative for a complete stranger so I was happy to take his direction and answer whatever he needs). We’re now 8 hours away from the deadline and still I’ve heard absolutely nothing from him. Not even acknowledgement that he’s received my order. No questions, no request for clarification etc. Is this normal? How can he know what I want if he hasn’t asked me anything?

I’m not compaining at this point, I just want to know if this is normal behaviour and if I can expect this in (potential) future fiverr transactions.

Thank you

Being 8 hours from the deadline without ever hearing from a seller means you should request a cancellation immediately. That is not normal. You could also contact customer support and tell them the situation and let them cancel it for you.

I’ve had very busy designers go for two or three days if the deadline was a week or ten days but it should never get that close to the deadline without any communication.