Fiverr Community Forum

How do you charge values outside of $5 increments?

I can only figure out how to charge $5, $10, $15, and so on…

2 Likes

As far as I know, you can’t. The payment increments are set by fiverr and cannot be custom. So you can choose $200 from the dropdown tab but not $199.

1 Like

The only other way to charge a different amount is in Custom offers. There you can charge what you want. However, the buyer has to contact you first through your inbox.

1 Like

Good question. @priyab468 and @vickiespencer have given you the answers.

I’m posting because I had a similar thought myself a few days ago. As a proofreader, I charge $10 per 1,000 words. I’ve been selling on Fiverr for 7 years, and in that time the world has moved on so that (because of inflation and the cost of living) I profit less from my gig now, despite being a better and more experienced seller.

In an ideal world I would like to be able to charge $12 per 1,000 words. However, Fiverr forces me to either stick with $10 or jump to $15. The problem is that if charge $15 I suspect that my orders will fall dramatically as 95% of my competition charge $10 or less.

I know that I could still charge $10 per gig but reduce the word count to say 800 words. But people like things to be simple. Nice, easy to comprehend numbers like 500 and 1,000 work well for attracting the attention of buyers. 800 words just doesn’t sound appealing.

I really do wish that Fiverr would offer a more flexible pricing structure. I get that they would then lose part of their uniqueness (gigs starting from $5 and increasing in $5 increments) - but let’s be real about things. Fiverr is now around a decade old. Over the intervening 10 years inflation has removed nearly an entire $1 from the value of $5.