Fiverr Community Forum

How do you deal with requests for samples or examples?

The last post I found regarding this topic was from a few years ago.

As a financial writer, I always get requests to see examples and/or of my previous work, just see my writing style, which is understandable. I typically send a paragraph or two about finance or economics that I wrote just for these situations and buyers are happy with this.

But yesterday, a buyer took the cake.

He asked for several examples regarding accounting, economics and finance. I send him a paragraph from each topic (which is more than usual to begin with) and then said, his client is looking for long articles and posts that are at least 1,500 words and to send several of them as examples…

I mean, at this point, would you like me to send you everything I wrote since the 6th grade?

I told him I respect my clients copyright and Confidentiality.

What would you have done?

1 Like

If I were you I would have done same thing as you did. I can send prospective client paragraphs or portions form earlier work but it is unacceptable to send them full article.

Just do not give samples EVER.

People who ask for samples are NEVER people worth working with. They are all re-sellers looking to outsource work for their own clients. Most of the time, they don’t even want a sample from you to show a client. Instead, they want a sample that they can add as their own to their own portfolio.

If you really want to give samples, send samples as image files with a fat unmissable watermark plastered across them. You will quickly find that people asking make all kinds of excuses concerning why they need a Word document version.

Re-sellers who ask for samples are also usually as pleasant to work with as Satan himself.