Fiverr Community Forum

How do you delete a message that was previously sent?

I recently signed up specifically because I was referred to a Fiverr Seller by a friend who can vouch for this person’s work. I sent a message to the Seller that mentioned my friends name, and apparently there’s some social or cultural problem with that, so I tried to delete the message by clicking the trash can icon in the top right of the screen.

I messaged again a couple days later, omitting my friend’s name.

BUT the old message is prepended to the new message! The old message was completely gone, but now it appears out of no where.

Why did Fiverr pretend the previous message was deleted, but now it prepends the previous message, which was gone from the screen, to the new message? It’s bizarre behavior from the site.

There’s no point in putting a trashcan icon if you can’t actually delete the conversation.

1 Like

You can only delete the message for yourself, not for the receiver. If you contact that person again, you will see your message because he can see it.

It is not possible to delete or modify messages in the inbox after sending it.

That is why most of us set Enter to go into another line, not press the Enter to send so we can check again before sending.

4 Likes

Thanks. Is there somewhere that I can make the complaint or suggestion to Fiverr? There really shouldn’t be a trashcan if it doesn’t actually do anything. I’m totally new to the service and the forum.

No.
This is a business site, not social media chat room. Communication must be transparent and logged.
You have option to delete conversation with seller and never talk to him again if you do not want to see your messages.

If you want to talk, all your messages are preserved in the system permanently for legal matters.

It is in the TOS.

3 Likes

No.
This is a business site, not Viber or Whatsapp. Communication must be transparent and logged.
You have option to delete conversation with seller and never talk to him again if you do not want to see your messages.

If you want to talk, all your messages are preserved in the system permanently for legal matters.

It is in the TOS.

1 Like

You can’t delete messages for security reasons. Fiverr is a serious site and not only Buyers, but Sellers too, (if delete to everyone existed), could easily remove evidence of bad things they wrote. So make sure and double-check before sending a message.

1 Like

Thanks again. I heart all your responses. Not being able to delete messages makes sense. Having a trash can icon or a message mysteriously reappearing makes less sense but thanks to marinapomorac I understand the intention.

I had sellers come to me and beg me to hire them. I did not report them since I was not aware that is what you suppose to do so I just deleted that conversations so they do not appear in my inbox. That is the purpose of deleting button. So I do not see senders message or his icon on my scrolling.