How do you say no without offending them?

fastcopywriter

This happens to me on occasion, some guy messages me:

“I am looking for you to write a script based on this example video, turn it into a 30 sec audio and a 60 sec audio (I am looking for both)… blah blah blah”

Then I tell him:

“Sorry, all my work is original, I don’t do work based on videos. I suggest you hire someone else. Good luck.”

Then he tells me:

“You could have made a friendlier response. I am new to this.”

WTF? What am I supposed to do? Why do buyers expect me to kiss their rears? Seriously, if you’re gonna treat me like a prostitute, at least pay me first. LOL

People get butthurt pretty easily. I try to soften the blow by coddling them. Don’t want to burn a bridge should they ever need something I do offer.

I had one person ask for a voice-synced audio recording in 8 hours for $5. Ridiculous. I told them I could perform the work for $15 (word number + sync price + immediate delivery) and they haggled me to the point where I just gave up.

I just said “I’m sorry I can’t perform the work you’re seeking. But, I am sure there are plenty of other sellers on Fiverr who can help you! I hope you find someone else, and best of luck here on Fiverr!”

This is also the same basic structure as my rejection message on a dating site. Works pretty well. People still get butthurt, but at that point it isn’t my problem.

Good points. Customer service has been a struggle for me, so it’s good to read about what other people are doing.

I don’t know why some people are so desperate. If they can pay for 24/hour delivery, why do they demand it in 8-hours? If it’s a deadline, they should be the ones making an enticing offer: “Hi, I’ll give you $25 if you do this in 8 hours.”

Deadlines can do funny things to people. It’s clearly their fault that they’ve left [whatever it is] to the very last minute. If they want good, fast and competent work, it’s time to bring out the big bucks and pay the last minute tax.