Fiverr Community Forum

How I made 2K My 2nd Month On Fiverr

I am but a No Level Seller. However, I am on target to be Level 1 and have hit the income goal for Level 2 Seller.

I created my first gig Feb 1, 2019. I had ZERO expectation. I came to Fiverr because the local client I had changed their focus to translate all the courses I designed and developed into Spanish.

That left me with ZERO income. So what’s a girl to do? I said “why not.” And crafted my gig. I think I created 3 or 4 gigs my first day and then just let it go.

To my surprise, people started reaching out to me. I have a MS in instructional design and technology and over 20 years experience designing and developing online training. Although it is easy to figure out my skill level in “the real world,” online is different. I am new to providing what I can do in a virtual environment.

So how did I reach 2K? For one, I did not do $5 gigs. The design and development of quality and effective online training is a skill that does not have a one size fits all solution.

Most of my selling is from custom gigs. Why? Because I have conversations with those that contact me. I ask a lot of questions. I do not just “accept” what someone wants to do because often what they desire to do is fundamentally flawed. So I educate.

The result is either they run away because they just want their thing done and a quality experience for the learner is immaterial.

OR…they realize I have a great deal of knowledge and want to work with me.

Sometimes when I let someone know the price they run. That’s OK with me. I let them know that I understand if they cannot afford to work with me. And then, they sometimes come back because they realize the true value of working with someone highly skilled.

If you are struggling and just want a client any client will do and any order will do, you may find your experience to be less than stellar.