How I Manage a Full-Time Job and Freelancing At The Same Time

smashradio

Hello, guys and girls!

I just wanted to share my thoughts with the forum on how I manage to keep a full-time job, freelancing on Fiverr, and even do some web designing work on the side - and still, have a life!

It can be darn though; I’ll tell you that. I know many of you do this already, and it’s not for everyone. Most people are content with their 9 - 5 jobs. But I’m a workaholic, and it takes some effort to put my foot on the brake from time to time, saying to myself “dude, get some rest.”

This is some of the methods I use to maintain my sanity when the orders start to pile up, my boss is pestering me to get that order through, and my web design clients are spamming my email with unclear instructions.

I Love What I Do

The first commandment. If you hate your job, you’re probably not gonna handle having another one when you come home at night.

I’m a shop manager at day, VO and web designer at night. I’m passionate about my full-time job, and my freelance work.

If I’m gonna do something, I’m gonna do it 100%, and if I can’t live up to that expectation, to hell with it. I won’t do anything related to work unless I love it. It’s been pivotal to my success.

Prioritizing

If you’re not able to give 100 % at your day-job, you should prioritize. My primary income is from my full-time job, and my freelancing allows me to buy all the stuff my wife wouldn’t let me buy if I only had one income.

I always strive to exceed expectations at work. That way, my boss will be more understanding when it comes to my freelancing.

Staying on schedule

If you don’t have one, get one. I follow my schedule rigorously.

I get up; I shower, I respond to messages, check my orders, email(s), and drink way too much coffee. I go to work, get home, eat dinner, and then I will work on all my orders on Fiverr.