Fiverr Forum

How to overcome the fiverr monopoly

I am a writer, and I offer 500 words for $5. I was looking at the front page, and a guy was offering 250 for the same price! I don’t understand how he could be getting orders. I do okay, but that guy is banking on half the work I do! So I guess my question is, how do I do that? And how did he?

I’m not sure how to answer your question. However, I believe it’s best not to compare yourself to other sellers. Not sure how long the seller you’re referring to has been around, however, you’re new (me too!) and the focus should be on offering a great service for your gigs. Also, usually writers on the front page are featured and will naturally have more buyers because of the added exposure. Now, that’s not to say ignore the market, either. My opinion probably is bollocks, and I’m sure more successful writers will chime in.

Change your description! That’s all. :slight_smile: Just say that you’ll write 250 words for $5. When I first started on Fiverr, I was offering (2) 300 word articles for $5. After that, my offer went down to (1) 300 word article, then (1) 250 word article. I didn’t have as much feedback as you, and yet the orders increased. If I were a buyer, I would actually be less likely to purchase the million words for $5 gig.

p.s. My article writing gig is suspended from taking orders. Although, you can see it here:

http://www.fiverr.com/typingservice/write-2-articles-with-300-words-native-english-speaker

I suspended it because there are other services I’d rather focus on. But yeah, just change your description and try it.

I just want to say, as writer who does offer a copious word count, I get many great buyers–no problem.

It’s different for many sellers. If anything, experiment with a lower word count, and see how buyers react.