How would some of you classify this skill or talent?

gwenhwyfar37

Hi all, I know my major acclaim on here is related to writing, but I’ve been wishing I could offer art-related gigs on here for the longest time. I’ve often shied away from viewing art as a source of income; seeing the prospect of selling art full-time as “unrealistic” or only possible with the right social connections. To those who are doing just that here, though, I salute you =)
In my lifetime, I’ve sold a few paintings here and there, probably about 5 or 6, give or take…yes, the “traditional” medium…the very type that I feel is not reliable for a livelihood without connections, marketing agents, tremendous sums of $$ for booth rentals, etc. I participated in a number of shows, won a few awards, some $$$. It was a few things to be proud of, but I found myself getting away from “traditional art” and moving onto the graphic arena, realizing I could take whatever I studied in school and apply it to Adobe or Corel.

Yes, I had formal training. I always thought highly of all my past art instructors. One of them has been written up in magazines!

Now I am thinking of taking the plunge even though I have cold feet…I hope you guys don’t mind me attaching a portfolio example here. It is not “to sell” It is an example to strengthen my credibility.I understand that I cannot link out to my graphic design website being it is against terms and conditions here; I respect that, my site is not of the “e-commerce” variety to bypass t & c; it serves to inspire trust in others who might want to see if I can deliver what I’d promise.

Attempting to show an attachment of a piece I drew all on my own; I use a combo of tools, including the Wacom tablet, and just plain old pen, ink, colored pencil, etc.You might say I’ve had tons of practice as I’ve been drawing for years, the graphic programs since about 2012.